Home / Manage / Structure

Right menu

Latest items

FINA 2009 World Championships Swimming - Day 3 Morning Session

David Davies took five seconds off the 800m Freestyle British record as the British Gas swimming team secured one final and three semi-final places after strong performances through the heat session. Davies took to heat four alongside Italian Federico Colbertaldo and Robert Hurley (Australia) and was looking to post a quick time to reach the final next day.

The Olympic silver medallist dominated the first half of his race but as the race entered the final 400m Colbertaldo began to close in on the British Gas swimmer. Davies showed his strength in the final 100m as he touched in a time of 7:45.89 to knock five seconds off his own British record time and qualified in fourth place for the final.

User information

There are 0 registered and 143 anonymous users online.


Details of the organisational structure

ASA South West Region Members Forum Presentation on Restructure

Download powerpoint file shown on 15 Jul 09

British Swimming extends board by appointing Wai-Yin Hatton

Wai-Yin Hatton is the newest addition to the British Swimming board. As well as a position on the board she will also act as the board’s liaison to the disability programme.

Hatton will liaise between the World Class Disability Swimming Programmes, GB Disability Technical Swimming Committee Chair, Ray Gordon and Tim Reddish Performance Director of British Disability Swimming.

ASA Committee Review Consultation

The ASA is consulting to guide the ASA Board in the preparation of a document for ASA Council in October 2008. The ASA would want to have the benefit of the views of the membership on the purpose and structure of its committees in order to ensure that they are fit for purpose to deliver key objectives set out in the ASA’s Strategic Plan and Vision.

Questions are intended to help members in providing comments but the aim is not to limit debate. If you think there are other relevant issues, please feel free to include them in your response.

The consultation period will run until 4 June 2008 and the findings will be reported back to ASA Board on 27 June 2008, to allow discussion before preparation of appropriate information for ASA Council in October 2008. Therefore they would like to invite members to give their views either through the ASA website or in writing on the principles of the Review as outlined.


In addition to the officers of the Region, the following are postholders (updated from 2009 Handbook):

Past Presidents and Officers (including Western Counties ASA)

Past Presidents

1901 Sir G. Pragnell
1902 A.J.Tucker
1903 R.B. Veness
1904 G.W. Hearn
1905 E.W. Jordan
1906 C.W. Bartlett
1907 J.S. Walker
1908 W.M. Bull
1909 W.S. Bambridge
1910 J.C. Richardson

Diagram of Regional Structure

Diagramatic representation of the relationships between Annual Council, Regional Management Board, Members, Forum, Finance, Development Committee, Discipline Committees and County ASA delivery.